top of page
SAPS Logo.png

About Us

The Seymour Agricultural and Pastoral Society(SAPS) was established to promote the development of the agricultural, pastoral, horticultural, viticultural and stock raising in the Seymour region. SAPS is affiliated with Victorian Agricultural Shows Ltd and Equestrian Victoria and a member of the Central &  Upper Goulburn Agricultural Societies’ Group. Read about our History

Council Members


Anne S. Davidson

Vice Presidents

Vivian Beaumont & Cherie Matthews


Pam P. Beerens


Brenda Page

General Council

James Anderson, Taylan Atar, Glenn Barry, Etienne Beaumont, Enola Halpin, Emma Henne, Gay Lewis, Ian Mot, Rev. Richard Pennington, Robert Richardson, Belinda Scott, Zoe Welsh, Annie van Dorsser, Kerry Williams, Sarah Winter Irving.

Representatives of the Victorian Agricultural Shows Ltd

Vivian Beaumont

Gay Lewis

Pam Beerens

Veterinary Officers

Dr. John Dalziel 

Dr. Andrew Hogan 

Honorary Life Members


T. Allen, Vivian Beaumont, W. Binion, N. Bjorksten, Margaret Broers, Duncan Chisholm, Coral Cole, Allan Coulson, John Dalziel, David Freeman, Margot Green, Mary Greenshields, Martin Grimwade, Ken Hall, Bernie Hangan, Robert Hayes, Chris Head, Glenise Heywood, Andrew Hogan, Ron Holden, Wes Jeffery, Dennis Leahy, John McCracken, Norm McLarty, Phil McLean, John Miller, John Munckton OAM, Peter Robinson, Jason Ronald OAM, Barbara Smith, Doug Smith, Bryan Tehan, Marg U'ren, Richard Wallis, Bob Webster.

Our History

The Seymour Agricultural and Pastoral Society was founded in 1858 and is the oldest local community organisation and one of the oldest agricultural societies in Australia. In fact the Seymour A & P Society has been around longer than the Commonwealth of Australia, the State of Victoria and the Melbourne Cup not to mention Moomba and the AFL Grand Final but 1858 was the year that Aussie rules was first played between Melbourne Grammar and Scotch College. 


Our Show has occupied several venues around Seymour but settled in 1905 at Kings Park, Tallarook Street Seymour and has continued there to this day. As with most Show Societies there were years when there was no Show particularly during the First and Second World Wars. Some families have had a long association with the Society including the Wallis Family, the Tehan’s, the O’Sullivan’s, the Heywood’s and the McKenzie’s. Now a Council of 20 and 30 Life Members run the Society and produce not only the Annual Show but also assist with the Seymour Alternative Farming Expo, the Annual Working Sheep Dog Trials, the Tastes of the Goulburn Festival Day, various Seminars and also Grant Scholarships to young locals pursuing tertiary studies.

SAPS Scholarship

This unique Scholarship has been running for over 20 years. The Scholarship aims to assist Students from our Region who are studying or planning to study at a Tertiary level. Students may be studying fields as diverse as Agriculture, Veterinary Science, Natural Resource Management, Environmental Engineering and Medicine. A past recipient has gone on to become President of a Show Society in regional Victoria.


This Scholarship is valued at $5,000. A written letter describing your Expression of Interest in receiving this Scholarship can be emailed or posted to the Seymour Agricultural & Pastoral Society by the 15th of January each year.


Contributions - which are eligible for a TAX RECIEPT, are welcome at any time to the Trust Fund to ensure the continuation of this Scholarship.

Email: - Secretary - 0422 058 213

Email: - John Dalziel - 0438 577 126


Scholarship Recipients


1999 Hugh Robinson & Russell Wolfe

2001 Lauren O'Connor

2002 Richard Stecher & Monica Kelly

2004 Tom Wallis & Andrew Crowe

2005 Kate Coulson & Sarah Challis

2006 Kirsty Thomson & Joel Kopanica

2007 Elise Doyle, Grace Frank & Prue Hateley

2008 Tracy Halpin, Hugh Thomson, Murray Bullen

2009 Laura Mundy

2010 Kirsty-Lee McBean

2011 Aaron Vague

2012 Jared Polkinghorne

2013 Nathan Farrell

2014 Hannah Anderson

2015 Zoe Taylor 

2016 Ian Mot

2017 Oliver Hogan & Elizabeth Head

2018 Olivia Aquilina & Daniel McLarty

2019 Sarah Winter-Irving & Etienne Beaumont

2020 MacKenzie Spencer & Todd Lawrence

2021 Georgia Cronin

2022 Darcie Hanson

2023 Luella Drinnan

Contact Us
General Inquiries

Thanks for submitting!

Phone: 0422 058 213

Got a question? Go to FAQ's
bottom of page